MBC for boost leak fix

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MBC for boost leak fix

Hi there, I'm new to fiat and the 1.4 multiair. I've been reading a bit on the pressure bleed used to purge the charcoal canister, seems that the best current solution out there is an N/O solenoid on a pressure sensor. My question is, has anyone tried using a Ball and Spring Type Boost Controller inline with the hi pressure line feeding the tee?

I may give this a shot (picture): introduce a second spring to keep the valve normally open, and the MBC portion should close on a desired pressure.
    Click image for larger version  Name:	boost%20controller%205.jpg Views:	1 Size:	217.1 KB ID:	1921
    Last edited by romanoaf; 01-29-2019, 09:40 AM.
    13' Abarth

this method might require a custom valve- the MBC solution likely doesn't seal on the stem. I'm going to try to develop a normally open pre-loaded check valve for this application. currently that type of valve looks like it only exists in medical applications.
    13' Abarth

Comment

Charcoal canister is for fuel vapor re-circulation for emissions purposes. What is considered boost leak is fuel gases that have been purified by the charcoal canister being reintroduced into the intake of the engine.

Comment

Understood, however from my understanding, the vapours are “pushed” with hi pressure air from the other side of the intake through an ejection tee (Venturi tee), this is the “pressure bleed” I’m talking about.

Good source:
        https://www.dodge-dart.org/forum/eur...s/30261?page=1
        13' Abarth

Comment

Originally posted by JustBob View Post
          Charcoal canister is for fuel vapor re-circulation for emissions purposes. What is considered boost leak is fuel gases that have been purified by the charcoal canister being reintroduced into the intake of the engine.